Gala from Berlin

Gala from Berlin

grand finales

DVD - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"The Berliner Philharmoniker celebrate the last day of the 20th century with Grand Finales in the first part of this extraordinary concert, and herald the leap into the 21st century with an explosion of sparkling music in the second half of the programme. For the Grand Finales, Claudio Abbado conducts masterpieces like the final movement of Beethoven's 7th Symphony, excerpts from Stravinsky's Firebird and the last movement of Mahler's 5th Symphony. The world-famous actor Klaus Maria Brandauer narrates from Arnold Schoenberg's Gurre-Lieder"--Container.
Publisher: [Berlin, Germany] : EuroArts, [2014]
Copyright Date: ©2014
Branch Call Number: 784.2 GALA
Characteristics: 1 videodisc (108 mins) : sound, colour ; 12 cm + 1 booklet
digital, opticalgstereo, PCM, rda
video file, DVD video, region 0, rda
Alternative Title: Grand finales.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Oct 13, 2016

An interesting concept- seeing the old century out and the new one in by presenting a concert of symphony finales and overture music. The selection is richly varied.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at OPL

To Top