Composer's Response to Crisis

Streaming Video - 2009
Rate this:
In 1802, Beethoven faced the prospect of becoming deaf. But instead of causing defeat, that crisis triggered a season of transcendent creativity that changed the course of music history. In this program, pianist Mia Chung explores the innovations of Beethoven's genius in the face of enormous obstacles as she performs, deconstructs, and discusses two of Beethoven's most significant solo piano works: Piano Sonata no. 21 in C Major, op. 53 ("Waldstein"), composed in 1803-04, and Sonata no. 31 in A-flat Major, op. 110, composed in 1821. Ms. Chung has been called "uncommonly insightful, individualistic, lively" and "technically dazzling" by The New York Times.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Films Media Group, [2009], c2008.
Branch Call Number: E-VIDEO
Characteristics: 1 streaming video file (144 min.) : sd., col., digital file.
Alternative Title: Composer's response to crisis


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at OPL

To Top