Hell Is Empty

Hell Is Empty

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
Walt faces an icy hell in this New York Times bestseller from the author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies, the seventh novel in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this seventh novel from Craig Johnson, the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies. Well-read and world-weary, Sheriff Walt Longmire has been maintaining order in Wyoming's Absaroka County for more than thirty years, but in this riveting seventh outing, he is pushed to his limits.Raynaud Shade, an adopted Crow Indian rumored to be one of the country's most dangerous sociopaths, has just confessed to murdering a boy ten years ago and burying him deep within the Bighorn Mountains. Walt is asked to transport Shade through a blizzard to the site, but what begins as a typical criminal transport turns...
Publisher: New York : Viking, [2011]
Copyright Date: ©2011
ISBN: 9781101515327
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_HANNAH Oct 12, 2017

A great addition to the Longmire series! I was inspired by the character's perseverance throughout.

1
13k93720
Jul 22, 2015

Lightly and poorly plotted. While on snowshoes In a blizzard Longmire tracks a snow cat (think of a ski hill grooming machine) full of bad guys and manages to more or less keep up with them all night! A cougar turns up at just the tight time then disappears. Longmire "quietly" breaks into a remote mountain cabin with his snowshoes on and doesn't particularly alarm the occupants - give me a break. Don't waste your time on this fluff.

m
macrw3
Apr 21, 2015

Holy smoke. I couldn't put this one down. Longmire never quits. It is the best of the series so far.

multcolib_susannel Mar 05, 2015

When a prisoner handoff goes horribly wrong and a blinding blizzard blows in, Sheriff Walt Longmire finds himself on his own in the Wyoming wilderness as he goes after a dangerous psychopath.

l
lctiger74
Mar 06, 2014

Very good book that will keep you reading into the early hours of the morning

d
deRougemont
Nov 01, 2011

The best yet from an outstanding crime writer.

o
olson_ethan
Sep 17, 2011

This entry in Johnson's Walt Longmire series is, as bobgrant mentioned, much more focused on Walt than it is on the usual supporting cast. There are two sides to that. On the one hand, the best part of these books has always been the dialogue between characters. On the other, it definitely provides a welcome change of pace from the previous novels.

Because of the focus on the protagonist, "Hell is Empty" has a different feel than the other books, but it definitely stands out as one of the more interesting. I enjoyed it a great deal.

While others may dislike the undertones of Native American mysticism, I thought the book did a fantastic job of walking that tightrope. The reader can decide if there is something supernatural afoot, or if Walt is just going a little stir-crazy out in the wild. Read from a psychological perspective, Johnson's latest novel pulls you into Walt's disorientation masterfully, giving the narrative a disjointed and unsettling tone.

rlbecker Sep 08, 2011

Talk about a manly mystery. This is it ! Sheriff Walt Longmire finds himself involved in one of the most difficult cases of his career. He cheats death a number of times, although even he is not sure of that at times. This story has some mystical elements to it, involving some native American people who help him and some who try to kill him. The elements conspire against him as well, including snow storms and fires. This was a roller coaster ride from start to finish.

b
bobgrant
Sep 02, 2011

Johnson has put Walt back in a cold and hostile environment again. This book hearkens back to A Cold Dish, the first Longmire mystery. It is change from Walt's admittedly messed up social and family life that have graced the last few books; it is really a Walt-centered book with the other characters you love receding into the background. You might want to wear a sweater for this one!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top