Elizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
35
2
1
An internationally heralded debut novel of extraordinary warmth, insight and humanity that will appeal to readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Still Alice: Elizabeth Is Missing is at once a page-turning mystery that takes us from post-war Britain to the present day and a piercingly honest portrait of love and memory, families and aging through the lens of an unforgettable protagonist who will seize your heart--an elderly woman descending into forgetfulness, as she embarks alone on a quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared. Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory--and her grip on everyday life. Notes fill her pockets and dot the walls of her home, increasingly crucial reminders of the immediate world. Most crucial is the fact that she can't find her only friend--Elizabeth has disappeared: she isn't answering the phone and doesn't seem to be at her house. Maud, convinced Elizabeth is in...
Publisher: 2014.
ISBN: 9780345808325
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource ( pages)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From Library Staff

Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory--and her grip on everyday life. Notes fill her pockets and dot the walls of her home, increasingly crucial reminders of the immediate world. Most crucial is the fact that she can't find her only friend--Elizabeth has disappeared: she isn't ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
princessofburundi
May 27, 2019

Oh, how I loved this book. Maud has Alzheimer's. She remembers very little, and leaves herself notes everywhere. When she goes back to the notes she has no idea what they mean. Most days she doesn't recognize her daughter, every day she buys more tinned peaches - her cupboards are full of them. There is one thing about which Maud is absolutely sure - her friend Elizabeth is missing.

I don't know how Emma Healey wrote this book, which is narrated by a woman whose faculties are fading quickly. To get inside that mind is a great feat of fiction. I love the characters, the mystery that Maud unravels, and the changes in the relationship between mother and daughter as Maud's illness progresses from bad to worse. It's a beautiful story, so full of heart, and it's amusing and upsetting in turn. I recommend this book very much.

r
redoute
Feb 07, 2019

I suspect that those who reviewed this book negatively are either young or in denial.
This is very close to how the world really feels with dementia.
It's a marvelous book.
And it shows that if the person with dementia is not afraid, the disease doesn't have to be awful. You just drift in and out of the reality that others never leave.But the alternate reality might not be horrible.

w
WolfyFrancis
Sep 01, 2018

When your librarian tells you to read something you should read it. Such a great story. I couldn't put it down. Maud is frustrating but you cannot help but love her.

PimaLib_MaryG Mar 22, 2018

This is an excellent, excellent book. It is really three tales in one - two mysteries and the story of Maud and her increasing disability. First, there is the mystery of the title - what happened to her friend Elizabeth? This mystery brings back memories of the unsolved disappearance of Maud's sister decades ago. Finally, both of these intertwined tales are told through the imperfect narration of Maud, whose dementia increases as the book goes on.

d
darladoodles
Mar 13, 2018

This story contains not one, but two mysteries -- decades apart. We are inside the mind of Maud who is wondering what has happened to her dear friend Elizabeth. Her mind also vividly remembers the events from 1946 when her sister Sukey disappeared. Clues that Elizabeth turns up connect to that past mystery and also to the one she is currently obsessing over. The plot intricately weaves the two stories together and gives the reader closure. Getting ready to discuss this with a book group later this week. I am anticipating a lively group for this one.

m
mariaR
Feb 04, 2018

Couldn't put this one down. It's written from the point of view of a woman who is suffering from dementia, who, somehow, can still pull threads together.

a
ALW7033
Nov 27, 2017

I hated this book. I could no finish it.

u
uncommonreader
Apr 19, 2017

This book has an intriguing premise. Maud, although suffering from dementia, uses her long term memory to solve a mystery from the past. One suspects that the author is basing the character of Maud on her own grandmother. However, the plot itself is implausible and the first person narrative - ranging from memory loss to complete clarity - also does not work.

j
jazpur
Feb 07, 2017

I'm ambivalent about this. It had its moments but they were few and far between. Muddled like the poor woman with the dementia.

p
poodlegirl
Nov 10, 2016

Way too long, extremely tedious, disappointed in the ending.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
l
LILYPILLY
Jan 16, 2017

LILYPILLY thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

j
jeanie123
Jun 24, 2014

jeanie123 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
l
LibrarianNancy
Jul 07, 2014

When the main character is elderly and has some serious memory loss, it's hard to know which way the story leads -- and that's a good thing in this well-written page turner. Has something happened to Maud's friend, Elizabeth? Or, just as likely, did something happen to Maud's beloved sister, Sukey, 45 years ago?

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top