The Age

The Age

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
An highly-charged, edgy debut novel, by an author who burst onto the scene with a much-talked-about, memorable story collection Dead Girls. The Age is eagerly anticipated, and, though set several decades in the past, it is a perfect coming of age novel for today. For readers of Annabel Lyon, Lisa Moore, Heather O'Neill. Set in Vancouver in 1984, as Soviet warships swarm the Atlantic, the story takes place over two weeks when a teenage girl's life suddenly catapults into adulthood. Still trying to make sense of her father's desertion of the family years before, Gerry is struggling against her mother's love, with where she belongs, and with her sexual identity. She is bolstered by her grandfather, an eccentric ex-news anchor in the throes of a divorce, and sometimes by her complicated, charged relationship with her closest friend, Ian. He has fallen in with a charismatic older woman Megan and her friends Andri and Michelle, a group of subversive...
Publisher: New York : McClelland & Stewart, 2014.
ISBN: 9780771052545
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource ( pages)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top