Avatar the Last Airbender

Avatar the Last Airbender

The Promise, Part Two

Book - 2012 | 1st ed.
Average Rating:
7
4
Rate this:
Aang and Katara are working tirelessly for peace when an impasse between Fire Lord Zuko and Earth King Kuei over Fire Nation colonies within the borders of the Earth Nation threatens to plunge the world back into war! Meanwhile, Sokka must help Toph prepare her hapless first class of metalbending students to defend their school against a rival class of firebenders!
Publisher: Milwaukie, Or. : Dark Horse, 2012.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781595828750
1595828753
Branch Call Number: YANG
Characteristics: 74 p. : chiefly col. ill. ; 23 cm.
Additional Contributors: Gurihiru
Heisler, Michael

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
NoCommonRaven
Aug 15, 2017

I love how hard Toph and Sokka work to train Toph's "lily-livers". I like how you get to hear what Toph is feeling and how she discovered metalbending.
"Sure they wanted me to be helpless, but they also wanted me to be a cultured, well-mannered, soft-spoken little lady. All I felt was pressure and pain." ~ Toph Beifong

l
Love_Legolas_111
May 02, 2015

This series continues to stay strong and hold my interest! I can't wait to read the rest!

FindingJane Mar 28, 2015

Ever have anything exceed your expectations? I haven’t had a television since 2005. This admission is important because it explains how I missed out on this phenomenon, the Avatar franchise that has thrilled so many others. I vaguely knew of its existence, mainly because of a film that was based on the cartoon series and apparently disappointed its many fans. But it lay well beyond the periphery of my consciousness. Having been exposed to the Avatar series by a bunch of fans, I was blown away by it. It was like a grown-up version of “Shaolin Showdown”, a children’s series about a quartet of children headed by a little bald-headed monk in search of magical objects. It often featured foolish, comically exaggerated villains (a mime, e.g.) and inevitable magical fights to obtain the said objects. “Avatar” was way beyond that, featuring adult themes, brilliantly nuanced characters and the personal development of its main protagonists. In this graphic novel, which includes all the comics related to this storyline, it deals with the aftermath of a 100-year war and proves that maintaining peace is just as fraught with difficulty as staging a war. There are no true villains here, only people struggling to do what is right…if only anybody could figure out what “right” is. There are thorny issues addressed here, such as the question of colonization, what to do with entrenched families, what constitutes a person’s nationality and how to maintain calm amidst people who are itching for a fight. The worst problem arises when one character demands that another kill him should he ever succumb to the dark side. The decision of whether to violate one’s principles to save the world poses a horrid dilemma the titular character faces only after intense and agonized thought. This is where the book proves its mettle. The outcome to such queries is always in doubt, fraught with the vastly differing viewpoints of people who can’t or won’t settle their disagreements with anything but violence. But this isn’t to say the book is entirely gloomy or laden with doom. There is comedy, action, romance and fantasy, all of it woven together to form a rich tapestry. The illustrators did their homework and are obviously in love with their subjects and it shows. The drawings are beautiful, colorfully rendered with meticulous attention given to period and historical detail. Expressions are subtly nuanced with each quirked eyebrow, rolled eye and pursed lip conveying the individual characters and their innermost thoughts. The dialogue is excellent, too; even if I’d had no previous background about this world, it was easy enough to follow the storyline. The novel also includes annotations on its pages, highlighting the particular work, ideas or theories of its creators when pointing out a particular aspect. This book gets my highest rating. Its size makes it a terrific coffee table book and a splendid gift for graphic novel lovers who adore this series. Whether you’re a devotee of “Airbender” or have been newly introduced to the series, this is one outstanding graphic novel.

qabas Feb 01, 2015

this book is awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Best of Avatar the Last Airbender: The Promise series! Good to see lot more of Sokka and Toph working together once again. Lot going on in this comic book.

c
cavanhk
Aug 19, 2012

i cant wait to read it the last airbender and legend of korra are both great and i think it will be great

s
SusanWilbanks
Jun 04, 2012

Here's one book my 8-year-old daughter and I will BOTH have on our summer reading tallies. Second in the trilogy showing what happened to the heroes of Avatar: The Last Airbender after the end of the series. Fans of A:TLAB and The Legend of Korra are sure to enjoy further insights into the characters' world.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

n
NoCommonRaven
Aug 15, 2017

NoCommonRaven thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 70

r
red_buffalo_183
Aug 13, 2014

red_buffalo_183 thinks this title is suitable for 6 years and over

c
COgoti
Dec 03, 2013

COgoti thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

c
cavanhk
Aug 28, 2012

cavanhk thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top