A Conspiracy of Kings

A Conspiracy of Kings

eBook - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
4

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. The Queen's Thief series is rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. The New York Times bestseller A Conspiracy of Kings won the Los Angeles Times Book Award and is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

After an attempted assassination and kidnapping, Sophos, heir to the throne of Sounis, disappears. Those who care for him--including the thief Eugenides and the Queen of Eddis--are left to wonder if he is alive and if they will ever see him again. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

This edition of A Conspiracy of Kings includes a conversation between bestselling author Leigh Bardugo and Megan Whalen Turner, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen's Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen's Thief.

Winner of the LA Times Book Award

A New York Times Bestseller

A Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Book

A School Library Journal Best Book

"The Queen's Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner's books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come."--Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer

"Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail--you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."--Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows

"Megan Whalen Turner is one of my all-time favorite writers . . . impossible to put down."--Holly Black, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of the Modern Faerie Tale series and The Darkest Part of the Forest

"Romance, intrigue, mystery, surprises, and sheer beautiful writing."--Cassandra Clare, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of The Mortal Instruments and Lady Midnight

"The world Turner creates is so tangible that not only do I believe in its characters, I almost believe in its gods."--Kristin Cashore, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of the Graceling Realm series

"A Conspiracy of Kings brings the sweetest, sharpest kind of reading pleasure. Megan Whalen Turner's books are pure joy."--Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author of When You Reach Me and Goodbye Stranger

Publisher: New York : PerfectBound, 2010.
ISBN: 9780061986697
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 electronic text.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
IndyPL_SteveB May 06, 2019

This is the fourth book in the fine series that began with *The Thief.* Catalogued in our library system as “juvenile”, but really are at least young adult books and are popular with adults as well.

The first three books follow the career of Eugenides, the Queen’s Thief of the tiny country of Eddis. “Thief” in this context is more like “spy” – he steals secrets. Three neighboring countries, Eddis, Attolia, and Sounis, have been having small wars for centuries; but the real threat to them is the much larger and more powerful ocean-going Mede Empire.

The Queen of Eddis and Sophos, the heir to the throne of Sounis, are attracted to each other and hope to combine their thrones; but many of the Barons who run Sounis are plotting against each other and against the King, with the help of the Medes. *A Conspiracy of Kings* primarily takes up Sophos’s story, although Eugenides and the two queens have strong supporting roles.

Sophos is more of a poetry lover than a warrior or a person who understands the uses of power. One of the great pleasures of the book is watching the growth of Sophos as he begins to pay attention to the politics going on around him. Clever, interesting characters, surprise plot twists, and political maneuvering make this a fine entry in the series.

Beatricksy Jan 03, 2018

Because I'm selfish and childish, I like this book a little less than the previous ones in the series. Sophos is great, but...Gen. Gen brings such a spark of comedy and intrigue and snark. But, even without Gen as the main protagonist, it's still glorious. It's fresh and complex and beautiful, with a fantastic mythology and world building and character development. It treats its audience with respect and really analyzes the consequences of its royal characters' decisions. Sophisticated political intrigue. It's for everyone to enjoy! (psst, adults, you'll enjoy this as much as the teens it's theoretically written for.)

h
harper_c
Jul 18, 2017

Somehow these books just keep getting better. The characters, the politics, the intrigue, the plot twists! Turner is the master of surprises, of not explaining what her characters intend to do until it is shown to you, and it makes for wonderful storytelling. Also, I always think I will be sad that Gen is not the main character in these sequels, but then the new main characters are just as interesting as he is. Can't wait to get my hands on Thick as Thieves!

l
Lirael
Feb 01, 2017

Another adventure in The Queen's Thief series. The seeming simplicity of the author's writing belies the density and complexity of the story that kept me turning the pages. So happy to discover this installment of the series and can't wait for #5 mid-2017!

n
nidofito
Mar 29, 2016

So I didn't get as much pleasure out of this book as the previous two. Likely it's because A Conspiracy of Kings is by and large a transitional book, where a key few pieces are put into place to prepare for the inevitable Mede attack. Don't be deterred by that though. Sophos is amazing, if completely the opposite of Gen, and his story is heart-warming, honest and brave, like the lion he is and represents.

Honestly, the more I read this series, the more I realize how often people in power need to have a detached attitude when they make hard decisions. That's what this book is, and that's what this series has been all along. A bunch of friends in power who need to use and be used for the greater good. And big are these people who realize the need for the sacrifice and still see beyond it, to keep their friendships.

j
julia_sedai
Mar 23, 2014

This was a great read, even though like the commenter below, it was my least favourite in the series. However, it's fun to see the characters of Gen, Irene, and Helen again, as well as Sophos. She switches perspective often, as in the other books, but this one is mainly from Sophos' perspective. She is a very clever writer. And how many stories are there out there about four different rulers who are all teenagers and young adults? It's great to see how they all learn together, but still do their own thing.

LibrarianJan Jan 05, 2011

It's great to be back with these characters. I think, though, because it focuses on Sophos's story rather than Gen, it's my least favorite of the series so far. Still cleverly plotted, though, and as full of incite into human nature and relationships and politics as the others.

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
andreareads
Nov 14, 2011

Why he was the leader of this rebellion I couldn't begin to guess. I wouldn't have expected him to be able to lead the more fractious of my uncle's barons out of a hole in the ground if it was filling with water . . .

a
andreareads
Nov 14, 2011

To make war you need three things: one, money; two, money; and three, money.

a
andreareads
Nov 14, 2011

What a strange world it is, where prisoners are left their weapons and the written word is a mortal danger.

a
andreareads
Nov 14, 2011

There were more meetings, confirming my impression that talking is the most important thing a king does.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top