The Wooden Overcoat

The Wooden Overcoat

Book - 2006 | 1st American ed.
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:
This 1951 comic mystery in the tradition of Eveyln Waugh, Sarah Caudwell, Ruth Dudley Edwards and the early Robert Barnard features a London club for wrongfully acquitted murders and was the No. 1 Paperback Bestseller for December 2005 for stores in the Independent Mystery Booksellers Assocaition.
Publisher: Lyons, [Colo.] : Rue Morgue Press, c2006.
Edition: 1st American ed.
ISBN: 9780915230884
0915230887
Branch Call Number: BRANC
Characteristics: 191 p. ; 23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
hayasash
Jul 13, 2016

Such a comedy that you forget the grimness of murder. The idea of having wrongfully acquitted murderers living together is great though most of them are old and slightly annoying and remind me of Dad's Army. The neighbors' misadventures however is particularly amusing to follow. The ending is a little dull compared to the last part of action that took place. Recommended for people who are a fan of humor and absurdity. An audio adaptation was made by Mark Gatiss of Sherlock and Doctor Who fame.

Quotes

Add a Quote

h
hayasash
Jul 13, 2016

“Let's worry like mad. Shall we start on a worldwide basis and work down to ourselves, or start with ourselves and spread?"

"I'm going to do me-and-Peter and that dead man."

"All right. I'm just going to do a wee one about Bunny and then I'll join you. Always creeping around telling tales and stealing people's tights! How can anyone be that scrofulous and live? Now if somebody bumped him off, that would make sense.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top