Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"When teenage coder Emika Chen hacks her way into the opening tournament of the Warcross Championships, she glitches herself into the game as well as a sinister plot with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire"--
Publisher: New York, NY : G.P. Putnam's Sons, [2017]
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780399547966
Branch Call Number: LU
Characteristics: 353 pages ; 22 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Mar 15, 2018

'Warcross' takes its readers on an ADVENTURE. You will VISIT places you didn't know you could IMAGINE, feel EMOTIONS in so many different ways, and even when you are done reading, you will still be thinking about 'Warcross'.

I'm not a big sci-fi person, but I had to read this book for school. I'm glad I did though. The description in this book is amazing. I could really picture all of the complex virtual Warcross worlds in my mind. Kudos to the author, Marie Lu. It must've been pretty hard to make the readers really see all of the technology that hasn't been invented yet and places they have never been to. I was always engrossed in this book, from beginning to end. It is scary yet amazing to think about all of the things that could happen to the real world someday that are reality in this book. 'Warcross' was slightly predictable, but still was very interesting. I felt that the ending was a bit open ended and rushed, but there will be a second book, so no surprise that all my questions weren't answered. As someone who doesn't always have their nose up a sci-fi book, I really enjoyed it. Not my favourite, but definitely worth my time. Again, I especially enjoyed the description. A good read for anyone interested in an adventure that you will not look away from until the book is done.

SPPL_TKBTeenChoice Mar 14, 2018

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves suspense and fantasy books. The plot is very interesting and has no dull points. The main character develops and adjusts well to the major change in her life. I usually don’t read books about video games since I find them a bit depressing, this one wasn’t. --Claire, 15

Jan 02, 2018

This book is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LoganLib_Kirra Dec 05, 2017

Warcross transports you to a virtual reality that is refreshingly different to other books with it revolving around a worldwide game that is similar to 'capture the flag' but with constantly changing landscapes, different skill sets for each player and power-ups that can give a team a huge advantage over another. This book was a stunning, impressive and fast paced story weaved in with endless mystery and intrigue. 

Nov 22, 2017

I really liked the premise of the book (even if the game played in it is just a technologically advanced version of capture the flag); but felt the execution was off. The ending was rushed, and the moral conflict barely addressed. I suppose it's something the author wants to explore in book 2, but it felt like there was a lost opportunity here. In any case, it was a fine quick read, and I did like the protagonist... but it felt lacking in general.

Nov 21, 2017

When I picked this book I felt much the same as the commenters. It sounded like a typical YA with well used tropes but within the first chapter I realized that I really liked Emika. I really liked all the characters. I'm looking forward to the next book. If you are a gamer girl you will like it. It's a fun short read, and a nice break between heavier books.

Beatricksy Oct 16, 2017

Feels manipulative beneath its colorful lights, being just a standard YA pile of tropes about exotic boys with accents and "unique" (eg, rainbow-hair'd) girls that are good at being damsel-y when the plot requires it. Other than the main two protagonists, the cast is forgettable, and the ramifications of immersive virtual reality are not addressed until the final ten pages of the book (and clumsily, at that). Predictable and sloggy, with bursts of entertainment but mostly verging on fetishistic Japanese nonsense. I WAS going to rag on the video game itself for being little more than a capture the flag game that somehow gets ALL the attention, but then my sister reminded me that Overwatch exists, so. I guess that part's not too far fetched.

PinesandPrejudice Oct 03, 2017

This book took me forever it get through. It was super predictable and trope-y and just not my thing. Also, it was not as advertised. This book is not an adventure story, it's a love story. And I wasn't interested in the love story. It felt forced and I knew Hideo was shifty from the start.

What I did like was the game. Warcross was super cool but there wasn't nearly enough of it in the book. Sure, the tournament was great and the Dark World was awesome but I wanted more of the game itself. It was all conspiracy theory and messed up romance, just not what I expected and not in a good way. Which sucks because I love Marie Lu's Legend trilogy but i disliked The Young Elites. So I guess she is a hit or miss author for me.

I am sad I didn't like this book cause I really wanted to. It just felt like Hunger Games and Ready Player One had a super YA trope-y baby.

Sep 29, 2017

I really thought I was going to love this book based on the premise alone, but it disappointed on every level. Everything about this story was predictable, bland, contrived, and forgettable. The relationships and interactions between characters always felt forced while the lead, Emika, was just a really boring person. I pushed through to the end, hoping the whole time that I would become immersed in the story somewhere along the way. Unfortunately it just never drew me in. I cannot believe this is the same author of the Legend series (which was just amazing). Do yourself a favor and read something like Ready Player One instead.

Sep 28, 2017

This book would be great for fans of Ready Player One and Armada by Ernest Cline. I loved the geek factor and the science fiction. The story includes hackers, VR, and computer gaming and is fast paced with action, danger, and a little bit of romance. Emika is a character who has led a rough life, who you want to cheer for. I loved this book.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Mar 14, 2018

bigcoweye thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at OPL

To Top