Wishing Day

Wishing Day

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law.On the third night of the third month after a girl's thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes.The first wish is an impossible wish.The second is a wish she can make come true herself.And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart.Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she's not sure she believes in it. She's full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed.So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined.
Publisher: 2016.
ISBN: 9780062342089
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

PinesandPrejudice Jul 24, 2017

Ugh...what a waste of my time. I should have known from the minute that a young girl gets three wishes and she wishes for 1) her mother to come back 2) to be kissed and 3) to be someone's favorite that I was in for a disappointment. It was just trying too hard to be interesting, magical, realistic, dramatic...I don't even know. Natasha was whining and unwilling to do anything; she just wanted everything handed to her and I couldn't stand it.

Additionally, the plot made no sense. Where did the wishing tree come from? What's the deal with her mother? And the bird lady? And her sisters are brats too, might I add. Nothing is resolved, either. You end with more questions than when you began and smaller interest to continue into the next book -- which I will not be doing.

I kept hoping it would get magical, heart-warming or a little redeeming but apparently that was too much to ask from this book. Not my cup of tea -- I wouldn't even recommend it to my students or young readers.

e
evangelinehnchu
May 08, 2017

This is now one of my favourite books! I LOVE WISHING DAY!

k
koo_helen
Nov 14, 2016

i really liked this and it is really fun! i love your books!

z
zhuang8023
Sep 03, 2016

I think this book is fabulous. I recommend to all of the ages starting from 8 years old.
This book, Wishing Day is about an age thirteen years old girl named Natasha who lives with her 12 years old sister, Darya, 11 years old sister, Ava, Aunt Vera and Aunt Elena, and her Papa. Everyone says Natasha's mother is dead, but her father still thinks her mother is out there somewhere. On the third night of the third month of Natasha's thirteenth birthday, her wishing day, she makes three wishes. The first is for her Mama is still alive. The second one is to be kissed. The last wish is for her to be someone's favorite. Natasha suddenly finds frequent notes either on her fence, sidewalk or on her father's patio. These notes lead Natasha to think her mother is alive.

This book is outstanding and very fun to read. It is hilarious, romantic,and sometimes it can be teary too. Hopefully, it will many other's favorite too!

r
rosebud2112
Jun 23, 2016

This book is a quick and easy read. While written in such a way that a 4th or 5th grader could read it, it is more appropriate for the slightly older tween or young teen. An older teen would probably find this stupid though. I think there are other books out there that are worth the time to read before this one though.

c
Courtney_pan
Mar 26, 2016

yay! im second! Woo-hoo!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top